Light bar wiring ?

Discussion in 'Electrical/Lights' started by upnover, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. upnover

    upnover Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Haven't been able to make time to wire up the new led light bar but as I was sitting there last night getting a game plan I thought of this. I am not fond of lots of switches so I am thinking about using the hi beam side of the stock switch to activate the light bar. I will still wire a separate fuse and relay for the bar but use the stock switch in place of adding another. Low beams would stay the same but when I flipped to hi beams the led bar would come on with the hi beams. What do you think?
     
  2. abkdad3

    abkdad3 SSW Director of Public Relations Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Eaton Rapids, MI.
    Thats a good idea. I'm getting ready to put a light bar on mine and I might just do the same thing.
     
  3. pwm

    pwm Assistant SSW Rally/Event Director Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,561
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Sounds like a cool idea
     
  4. slane01

    slane01 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Attica, Michigan
    Sounds like a great idea....and it sure would be a high beam :)
     
  5. upnover

    upnover Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Well I finally got some time to start wiring and after looking at how well wrapped and insulated the stock wiring was decided a dedicated light bar switch was the way to go. Ended up placing a back lite switch on the back side of the shifter housing between the seats. Unfortunately the brand new relay I have appears to be bad from the factory so I ordered a new one as none of the local parts houses had one. I can jumper the relay and let there be light!!!
     
  6. pwm

    pwm Assistant SSW Rally/Event Director Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,561
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Any pics?
     
  7. upnover

    upnover Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    I need to trim the opening for the switch a bit better and then I will get a pic. I installed a switch I had but don't like it. Went by and picked up a switch that will be almost flush when mounted. It is an inexpensive switch but hopefully decent quality.
     
  8. upnover

    upnover Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Here are a few pics. Need to finalize the wiring coming down the cage. I would normally drill the cage and run it inside but for some reason can't seem to bring myself to do it to this cage. I am going to see if I can't find some cage pads or handlebar pads to help hide the wire, maybe I can find one with Polaris and the logo on them.

    0602151543b.jpg 0602151544.jpg 0602151544a.jpg
     

Share This Page