Rhino stator burned out

Discussion in 'Yamaha Discussion' started by darcydw, Dec 6, 2014.

  1. dugdidit

    dugdidit Starting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Looks like I get to replace the stator in my dads Rhino; we've preformed a series of test and all signs point to the stator. I've not tore into it yet so I'm not sure what I will need besides the stator itself. I'm assuming I will need a case gasket but if someone would be so kind to list what is needed that would be great.......the OP said something about a new crankshaft position sensor??

    Also what about OEM vs. aftermarket? I've read a little about RMStators but have read mixed reviews.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. darcydw

    darcydw Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Valleyview AB
    Hi dugdidit.

    I can't really remember much about it now. The first post I made noted that there was a crankshaft sensor and gasket included but I couldn't tell you for sure now. All I do remember was that you need to drain the oil and coolant and make some room to get into the stator. It wasn't a nasty job at all, just time consuming with lots of little things.
     
  3. bigrockk

    bigrockk Starting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Canada
    From what I can remember all I needed (for a 2012 700) was a new stator (5B4-81410-00-00) and crank case gasket ( 3B4-15451-00-00 )
    Also loctite for all internal fasteners, I used blue loctite, and I can’t remember exactly what it was but I did get some kind of sealer from Yamaha for the crankcase where the stator wires enter the crankcase.

    When you are done make sure you follow the proper procedure for bleeding the coolant system otherwise you are guaranteed to have over heating problems.
    Take your time and you shouldn’t have too much trouble, good luck!
     
  4. dugdidit

    dugdidit Starting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Perfect, thanks guys! And thanks a million bigrockk for the part numbers.
     
  5. Pootoogooluk24

    Pootoogooluk24 Starting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had a question... Can I put a 660 rhino stator into a 700 rhino?

    Work for a company that doesnt really get parts until nothing works. If it starts its "working"

    We have a 660 donor so thats where the question comes from
     
  6. bigrockk

    bigrockk Starting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Canada
    I went to the "Ricky Stator" website and the two stators have different part numbers and the electrical connectors look different from what I can see in the picture. Besides that I have no idea.
    Check out the link below, hope it helps, good luck.
    Ricky Stator - Products
     
  7. Pootoogooluk24

    Pootoogooluk24 Starting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you bigrockk
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
2008 yamaha rhino 700 stator
,

how to replace stator on yamaha rhino

,
rhino 700 stator cover
,

rhino stator replacement procedures

,
stator for a 2008 rhino 700
,

yamaha rhino 700 stator

,
yamaha rhino 700 stator replacement
,

yamaha rhino stator

,

yamaha rhino stator replacement

,
yamaha rhino stator test