Side X Side World Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 05 ranger 500 carb that has recently started ideling funny. i have adjusted the knob on cable but it seems to just go to high or too low. I saw another knob on the bottom of the carb but was afraid to turn it thinking it was an air fuel adjuster and didnt want to make anytthing worse. does anyone know the procedure for a carb adjustment. thanks..

·
SSW Rally/Event Director
5,153 Posts
Welcome to SSW, Donnie :) .

I'm not an authority on the carb'd models, but hopefully somebody else will chime in shortly.

·
SSW Sponsor
47 Posts
Welcome.

I am no expert but the problem you are experiencing could be fuel related. A local PS dealer whom I do business with told me that he see's a lot of problems related to fuel and more specifically ethanol blends like E10.

People use the ATV / Boat / Jet Ski infrequently (not everyday) and they after time start to experience performance related issues. Ethanol will absorb moisture and if the fuel it not used rapidly, the ethanol and water can separate from the gasoline and form deposits. Once the separation occurs it can not be corrected and the complete fuel system may have to be torn down and cleaned. If you store gasoline in containers for later use the moisture can find it way into those tanks and start to degrade the fuel. Ethanol blending fuels have a shelf life of about 90 days but in high humidity can start to deteriorate sooner, so don't store more gas than you can use in a few weeks or less.