Side X Side World Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to my dealer, 1.5 hours from my house, to see about a Rzr 4 or maybe a Ranger Crew. This is the same dealer I bought my Rzr and all of it's parts from.

I have a 2009 Rzr (std) with 427 miles and 48 hours on it. It also has a Polaris lock-n-ride back box, rearview mirror, soft top and a $1500 set of wheels and tires. I had to finance it because I work for a living and still owe $9000 on it. He told me he would give my $8000 trade for it and acted like I should thank him for it. I told him, if I keep all my stuff and trade it as stock I would do it so he said well in that case I will only give you $7500.

Can the resale value really be that bad on these things or do I need to sell it out right or find a new dealer.

·
4,369 Posts
You will always do much better selling outright. The dealer needs to buy low enough so he can resell for profit.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
slane01 said:
You will always do much better selling outright. The dealer needs to buy low enough so he can resell for profit.
I understand that, but is the resale on these things really that bad??

·
Registered
748 Posts
For what it is worth. The dealer I worked with to buy my RZR 4 was really up front on trading in my Ranger XP. He told me to sell it outright, he could only give me a faction of what it was worth.

That is why my Ranger is for sale. The biggest barrier to selling it is I don't have the ability to offer financing. Several folks have wanted it but could not come up with cash. I am working now with a shop that will take on consignment and market it, plus they offer financing to buyers. You may want to consider this route. The 5% consignment fee is peanuts compared to the hit I would have taken to trading it in.

·
PRC & SSW Administrator
4,302 Posts
quadtrax said:
slane01 said:
I understand that, but is the resale on these things really that bad??